Skip to content

Sarah Andrews – Missionary to Japan

March 9, 2010

In Sunday morning’s sermon, I referenced Sarah Andrews. She served as a missionary to Japan for 45 years, and there are 4 congregations in Japan that are a direct result of the classes she taught for years. I was reading a very insightful post by Jennifer Gerdardt about women in the church, and I thought of her life. Jennifer brought out the point that we shouldn’t limit our thoughts on the subject to teaching children, etc. (which is an incredible ministry/need in the church) since we need to think beyond just what happens on Sunday morning, and Sarah’s dedication to living in Japan even through World War II is definitely fits the bill. You can read more about her story here. I don’t know the author, but it was the best short description I could find online. Someone with better knowledge of restoration resources online (like Mac) might be able to point me to a more detailed account. Her biography, pictured above, is available online as well. I learned about her story in a grad class a few years ago, and it stuck with me as a great example of faith in action.

Powerful stuff.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. mac permalink
    March 23, 2010 8:45 am

    Thanks for calling attention to this book, Andrew. This is the first I’ve seen of it. I will have to get a copy. Bonnie Miller has done some excellent work in her book, Messengers of the Risen Son in the Land of the Rising Sun : Single Women Missionaries in Japan, published by Leafwood.

  2. Paul W. Epler permalink
    December 17, 2016 4:26 pm

    I am intrigued of her work and appreciate the information contained herein.

Leave a Reply

