Skip to content

Coming Events

January 6, 2010

I’m really looking forward to 2010. Here are a few things I am excited about, both important and unimportant…
1. Hands for the Harvest: That’s our theme for the year, and we are going to be praying the Matthew 9:38 prayer (about the Lord sending more workers for the harvest) every day at…wait for it…9:38. If you miss it in the morning, you can hit the night shift. My friend Nick inspired the timing idea, and we are also going to have a prayer at about that time during each of our Sunday morning services. It is awesome to think about how many times that will be prayed this year and how many ways God will answer it. Plus, it will remind us all to get out and work “in the fields” as well.
2. Radio Spots: Starting next week, I will be doing some one-minute radio spots on our local radio station (which has a ton of listeners). I’m still waiting on a good catch-phrase or tag line suggestion, but I think it will be a good opportunity to get the name of our congregation out there.
3. Trip to Hawaii: Because Kathryn worked hard and sold enough books to earn a Hawaiian cruise, I get to go along for the ride. I am seriously excited about this. I’ll need to watch the episodes where the Brady Bunch went to Hawaii to prepare.
4. Grad School: I’ve got some great classes lined up to take this year, including Reformation and the Modern Church (which is an area I really should know more about), Advanced Intro to the New Testament (which is a course I have heard a lot about and been looking forward to), and Hebrew (which I audited once but dropped out when I realized I couldn’t leave the country for two weeks and “catch up” when I got back. Some people probably could, but I couldn’t. Plus side – I got to hang out with Robbie Mackenzie the few weeks I was in class.)
5. Closure on LOST: I have to be honest, I’m a little nervous about this. The build-up to the final season has been so huge, and I have seen some very disappointing series finales in my day, so I am hoping they get this right. And that Vincent gets a flashback.
6. Terminology Decision Time: This is the year where we see if everyone decides to go with “two-thousand and ten” or “twenty-ten.” I started off in camp #1, but the second is so much easier to say. Plus, we say “nineteen ninety-nine,” not “one thousand nine-hundred and ninety-nine.” But, “twenty – zero-zero” didn’t roll of the tongue, so we went with “two thousand.” We didn’t even use the “aughts” like they did in the 1900’s. This is important, because it will set the tone for the rest of this decade and even the century. Well, maybe it isn’t that important. But it will be interesting.
These are just a few things, is there anything you are especially excited about in 2010?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 6, 2010 1:47 pm

    For your radio spot, I’m thinking “60 Seconds of Awesome.” You’re welcome.

  2. andrewdphillips permalink
    January 6, 2010 2:08 pm

    That would be great! Maybe I could just start each segment saying out loud, “This going to be awesome.” I mean, if I go ahead and say it is awesome, they can’t really argue with me, right?

  3. January 7, 2010 1:59 pm

    I am also looking forward to Two Oh One Oh (that’s what I’m trying to get to catch on).

    Here’s to hoping it allows time where we can team up, catch up and or meet up. Keep up the great blogging. Always cool to see what you’ve got cooking. Much love.

Leave a Reply

