Skip to content

The Turn of the Century

September 21, 2009

It was a simpler time – before ipods and facebook. 1999. Ok, it might not have been that much simpler, but it is strange to think of all the things that weren’t around 10 years ago, and it is even stranger to think that Kathryn, Luke, and I went to Memphis for my 10 year high school reunion. We went to a Harding football game, although we spent more time talking to friends than watching the game itself…which is pretty similar to what happens in a lot of high school games anyway. We had a picnic at Shelby Farms the next day, which was fun, and our official reunion dinner was in Midtown that night. We watched a slide show that had sufficiently embarassing pictures and got to hang out before heading back on a long, late-night drive to Kentucky.

When one of my high school friends found out I was preaching full time, he asked me if I was just listening to all the conversations around us for a sermon illustration. I told him of course not. After all, a blog post is not the same as a sermon illustration, right? I won’t bore you with a lot of sentimental, “Wonder Years” type memories (couldn’t that show’s premise work again if set in the 90’s? I smell an Emmy), but I did notice one thing.

In High School, you worry about a lot of stuff. A lot. Like clothes, cars, jobs, grades, money, who invites you to hang out on the weekends, did you miss the latest episode of Newsradio (ok, that was just me), etc. I thought it was so interesting how little any of that matters now. As I heard what everyone was doing, there were exciting things going on in their lives totally unrelated to high school concerns. In college, people aren’t all that impressed with what you did in High School, and no job application that I have seen asks the question “Were you popular in High School?” Of course, that doesn’t mean the worries of High School don’t feel like the most important things in the world at the time (because in the world of a teenager, they are), and it doesn’t mean that a great High School experience isn’t worth anything. We still enjoyed telling stories, reliving those experiences, etc. I guess the point is that 10 years gives everyone some perspective.

I wonder what I am really worried about today that won’t matter 10 years from now. Any thoughts? Do you have any ideas for what we are concerned about right now that won’t matter in a decade?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

